• Translate
Home Page

What is the Curriculum for Wales?

Curriculum for Wales


What is it?

The world has changed a lot since the National Curriculum was first designed for Wales, so the Welsh Government wanted to update our curriculum to prepare all of the children in Wales for their futures.

Education experts and teachers have worked together to develop the Curriculum for Wales. It has been made in Wales by teachers, partners, practitioners, and businesses and shaped by the best ideas from around the world. This curriculum will be for children aged 3 - 16.


What is changing?

The biggest change is that schools are using the guidance developed by the education experts to design personalised curriculums and plan what children learn. The new curriculum is designed for all children. It will support your child with creative lessons with real-life meaning. It will suit their needs and help them reach their full potential. The world is more connected nowadays, so what they learn is more connected too. Knowledge is really important, and they will also be given the skills and experiences they need for a fast-changing world.

All primary schools will begin to teach the Curriculum for Wales in September 2022. This will then be rolled out year by year until it reaches Year 11 in 2026/2027 academic year.


What is included in the new curriculum?


  • This curriculum is designed for children aged 3 - 16. That means there is no longer Foundation Phase or Key Stages.
  • There are 4 Purposes that are a shared vision and aspiration for every child and young person.
  • There are 12 Pedagogical Principles that outline good pedagogy.
  • There are 6 Areas of Learning that your child will learn.
  • There are 3 cross-curricular skills; Literacy, Numeracy and Digital competency.
  • There are 5 progression steps which provide reference points for the pace of that progression at ages 5, 8, 11, 14 and 16.

Four Purposes

Our Superpowers


We are supporting your child to become:

  • an ambitious, capable learner, ready to learn throughout their life

  • an enterprising, creative contributor, ready to play a full part in life and work

  • an ethical, informed citizen, ready to take part in Wales and the world, and a

  • a healthy, confident individual, ready to lead a fulfilling life as a valued member of society.

These are our 'super powers'! These are a shared vision and aspiration for every child and young person.

6 Areas of Learning


The Curriculum for Wales groups subjects into six Areas of Learning and Experience. Specific subjects will still be taught, but schools can decide to combine them so learners understand the links between them. Click the links below to find out more about each Area of Learning.


Expressive Arts

Health and Well-being


Literacy, Languages and Communication

Mathematics and Numeracy

Science and Technology


The learning should focus on things that matter to them now and when they grow up. Each area of learning and experience contains statements of what matters which shape learning for children of all ages. These help your child think about what they’re learning and how topics link to each other, to work and to life. They also support your child to progress each year as they build their understanding and skills.

How can you get involved?


We are looking to create a curriculum parent/teacher group. We will be discussing what you and we feel is important for our children, school and our wider community in order to meet the needs of our children and the new curriculum. No prior knowledge is required and once we have established members, the first meeting would be led by staff, an introduction to the new curriculum. If you are interested please speak to your child's class teacher.